Corporate Legal Board

Members of the Corporate Legal Board are renowned business law experts and, as General Counsel, are responsible for the legal department of a corporate group or an internationally operating company. They are part of the Tax & Legal Excellence network and contribute to the success of the knowledge exchange through their support.


Dr. Sebastian Biedenkopf

– Chief Legal Officer, Chief Compliance Officer, Chief Insurance Officer, Chief Human Resources Officer and Chief Human Resources Officer at Fresenius SE –

Sebastian Biedenkopf has been the Fresenius Management Board member responsible for Legal Affairs, Compliance, Insurance and Human Resources as well as Labour Director since 1 December 2020. Previously, he headed the global legal department of the Bosch Group for seven years. From 2008 to 2012, he worked in various functions at Conergy AG in Hamburg, most recently as CFO and interim CEO. Before joining Conergy AG, Sebastian Biedenkopf worked as General Counsel and Chief Compliance Officer at Maxingvest AG (formerly Tchibo Holding AG) in Hamburg and in various functions for the Bertelsmann Group. He began his career as a lawyer in Düsseldorf and Washington D.C.


Prof. Dr. Andreas Bohrer, LL.M.

– General Counsel and Company Secretary of Lonza Group AG –

Andreas Bohrer, attorney at law, has been General Counsel and Company Secretary of the Lonza Group since 2015 and is responsible for Legal, Compliance and IP worldwide. Prior to this, he worked in various roles at Novartis and UBS AG for several years. In addition, he has held a titular professorship in commercial and capital markets law at the University of Zurich since 2011, holds an LL.M. from New York University and has completed various further education courses at INSEAD, IMD and Harvard Business School. Andreas Bohrer is also a board member of Swissholdings and a member of the board of trustees of the European Institute of the University of Basel.

Prof. Dr. Andreas Bohrer von Tax & Legal Excellence Corporate Legal Board

Dr. Claudia Junker, LL.M.

– Chief Representative Law & Integrity of Deutsche Telekom AG –

As the Group’s General Counsel, Claudia Junker has headed Deutsche Telekom’s Law & Integrity division with the Legal, Data Protection and Compliance departments since 2020. She continues to head the Legal department as General Counsel, a role she took on in November 2010. Before joining Deutsche Telekom, she specialised in corporate law for many years and was a partner in a major international law firm. Claudia Junker has also been President of the German Association of Corporate Counsel since 2021 and is involved in the Board of the European General Counsel Association, the Business and Law Working Group and the Board of Directors of the Bucerius Center on the Legal Profession. She has also held a lectureship at the University of Cologne since 2012.

Dr. Claudia Junker von Tax & Legal Excellence Corporate Legal Board

Martin Mildner

– Chief Financial Officer of United Internet AG –

Martin Mildner has been CFO at United Internet since October 1, 2020, responsible for the areas of finance and controlling, risk management/internal audit, legal, taxes, M&A, investment and personnel management. Prior to this, he spent 13 years with the Otto Group in Hamburg as Group General Counsel for all legal matters of the group and at the same time as Global Head of Mergers&Acquisitions he was responsible for company acquisitions and sales worldwide. From 1998 to 2007, Martin Mildner worked as an attorney, tax advisor and tax lawyer, first as Managing Director Legal at KMPG and then as a Partner at Heuking Kühn Lüer Wojtek. The focus of his activities was on corporate and tax transaction consulting for national and international companies.


Dr. Ulrich Rust, LL.M.

– General Counsel and Head of Legal Affairs of RWE AG –

Ulrich Rust, lawyer, has headed the legal department of RWE AG as General Counsel since October 2016. Since 2001, he has held several legal management positions for the RWE Group, at last as Head of Legal & Compliance at RWE Generation SE for the operational power plant business. His practice focuses on corporate law, capital markets law, antitrust law, energy law and compliance. He began his professional career in the commercial law firm Heuking Kühn Lüer Wojtek. Ulrich Rust publishes regularly on business law topics and is a member of the legal committee of the Federation of German Industries (BDI) and the legal steering committee of the Federation of German Industries (BDEW).

Dr. Ulrich Rust von Tax & Legal Excellence Corporate Legal Board

Dr. Dirk Christoph Schautes

– General Counsel of the ERGO Group –

Dirk Christoph Schautes, lawyer, has been General Counsel of the ERGO Group’s central legal division since November 2014 and also served ad interim as Chief Compliance Officer of ERGO in 2017. He also holds various supervisory board mandates in Group companies of the ERGO Group in Germany and abroad. Prior to this, he spent six years as Director Group Compliance, where he was responsible for the group-wide Compliance Management System of METRO Group, after two years as Senior Legal Counsel, where he was responsible for M&A activities and a foreign portfolio. Prior to this, he worked for the international law firm Clifford Chance in the corporate division for around five years. Dirk Christoph Schautes is well known for his numerous lectures. He was a founding member of the German Institute for Compliance (DICO), is a member of the Legal & Compliance Committee and Chairman of the Antitrust Commission of the German Insurance Association (GdV).



Jochen Scholten, MBA

– General Counsel of SAP SE –

Jochen Scholten, attorney at law, has been General Counsel of Global Legal at SAP since January 2017. He has held several legal roles at SAP since 1998. Jochen Scholten started his career at SAP as Legal Counsel, before his current position he headed the department Commercial Legal as an Associate General Counsel and was Interim General Counsel in 2015. His main practice areas are contract and IP law, competition law, antitrust law and procedural law. Jochen Scholten holds an MBA from Mannheim Business School and ESSEC (France). He regularly holds seminars on negotiation at the IPR Institute of the University of Heidelberg.


Dr. Johannes Schulte, LL.M.

– General Counsel of the Douglas Group –

Johannes Schulte, in-house lawyer, has been General Counsel of the Douglas Group since December 2014 and is responsible for legal affairs, compliance, insurance and data protection. In 2015, he accompanied the dual track process in the context of the sale of the Advent International Group to CVC. Previously, he was General Counsel of Unify, formerly Siemens Enterprise Communications, a joint venture of Siemens AG and The Gores Group. Before moving to the corporate side in 2010, he was a partner at Hogan Lovells in Berlin and Munich, primarily in the areas of corporate, M&A, private equity and restructuring. He began his professional career as an associate at Linklaters in Berlin.


Solms U. Wittig

– General Counsel of the Hensoldt Group –

Solms U. Wittig, Attorney and Attorney-at-Law (New York), has headed the legal and compliance division of Hensoldt Group, a leading provider of premium protection, reconnaissance and surveillance sensors, since March 2017, following KKR’s acquisition of Airbus DS Electronics and Border Security. From 2012 to 2016, he was also responsible for Legal and Compliance at Linde AG. Prior to that, he gained many years of industry and management experience at Siemens AG, at last as chief lawyer in the now restructured Industry Sector. His professional career also took him to Deutsche Bank and the international law firm Hogan Lovells. Solms U. Wittig was President of the Federal Association of Corporate Lawyers from 2014 to the end of 2016 and is a member of the German Institution of Arbitration.

Solms U. Wittig von Tax & Legal Excellence Corporate Legal Board

Corporate Legal Board

Mitglieder des Corporate Legal Board sind namhafte Wirtschaftsrechtsexperten und verantworten als General Counsel die Rechtsabteilung eines Konzerns oder eines international operierenden Unternehmens. Sie sind Teil des Netzwerks von Tax & Legal Excellence und tragen durch ihre Unterstützung zum Erfolg des Wissensaustausches bei.


Dr. Sebastian Biedenkopf

– Vorstand für Recht, Compliance, Versicherungen, Personalwesen und Arbeitsdirektor bei Fresenius SE –

Sebastian Biedenkopf ist seit dem 1. Dezember 2020 Vorstand von Fresenius für Recht, Compliance, Versicherungen und Personalwesen sowie Arbeitsdirektor. Zuvor leitete er sieben Jahre den weltweiten Rechtsbereich der Bosch-Gruppe. Von 2008 bis 2012 arbeitete er in verschiedenen Funktionen bei der Conergy AG in Hamburg, zuletzt als CFO und Interims-CEO. Vor seinem Wechsel zur Conergy AG war Sebastian Biedenkopf als General Counsel und Chief Compliance Officer bei der Maxingvest AG (vormals Tchibo Holding AG) in Hamburg sowie in verschiedenen Funktionen für die Bertelsmann-Gruppe tätig. Seine Karriere begann er als Rechtsanwalt in Düsseldorf und Washington D.C.  


Prof. Dr. Andreas Bohrer, LL.M.

– General Counsel und Company Secretary der Lonza Group AG –

Andreas Bohrer, Rechtsanwalt, ist seit 2015 General Counsel und Company Secretary der Lonza-Gruppe und verantwortet die Bereiche Recht, Compliance und IP weltweit. Zuvor war er mehrere Jahre in verschiedenen Rollen bei Novartis und der UBS AG tätig. Darüber hinaus hat er seit 2011 eine Titularprofessur für Handels- und Kapitalmarktrecht an der Universität Zürich inne, hat einen LL.M. an der New York University und verschiedene Weiterbildungen am INSEAD, dem IMD und der Harvard Business School absolviert. Andreas Bohrer ist zudem Vorstandsmitglied von Swissholdings sowie Mitglied des Stiftungsrates des Europainstituts der Universität Basel.

Prof. Dr. Andreas Bohrer von Tax & Legal Excellence Corporate Legal Board

Dr. Claudia Junker, LL.M.

– Generalbevollmächtigte Law & Integrity der Deutschen Telekom AG –

Claudia Junker leitet als Generalbevollmächtigte des Konzerns den Bereich Law & Integrity der Deutschen Telekom mit den Bereichen Recht, Datenschutz und Compliance seit 2020. Sie leitet weiterhin als General Counsel die Rechtsabteilung, eine Aufgabe, die sie im November 2010 übernahm. Vor ihrer Zeit bei der Deutschen Telekom war sie viele Jahre als Rechtsanwältin auf den Bereich Corporate spezialisiert und Partnerin einer internationalen Großkanzlei. Claudia Junker ist darüber hinaus seit 2021 Präsidentin des Bundesverbandes der Unternehmensjuristen und im Board der European General Counsel Association, im Arbeitskreis Wirtschaft und Recht und im Direktorium des Bucerius Center on the Legal Profession engagiert. Seit 2012 hat sie zudem einen Lehrauftrag der Universität Köln. 

Dr. Claudia Junker von Tax & Legal Excellence Corporate Legal Board

Martin Mildner

– Finanzvorstand der United Internet AG –

Martin Mildner verantwortet seit dem 01.10.2020 als CFO bei United Internet die Bereiche Finanzen und Controlling, Risikomanagement/Interne Revision, Recht, Steuern, M&A, Beteiligungs- und Personalmanagement. Zuvor war er 13 Jahre bei der Otto Group in Hamburg als Group General Counsel für sämtliche Rechtsangelegenheiten der Unternehmensgruppe und zugleich als Global Head of Mergers&Acquistions für Unternehmenskäufe und –verkäufe weltweit verantwortlich. Von 1998 bis 2007 war Martin Mildner als Rechtsanwalt, Steuerberater und Fachanwalt für Steuerrecht zunächst als Geschäftsführer Legal bei KMPG und sodann als Partner bei Heuking Kühn Lüer Wojtek tätig. Der Schwerpunkt seiner Tätigkeit lag dabei in der gesellschaftsrechtlichen und steuerlichen Transaktionsberatung von nationalen und internationalen Unternehmen.


Dr. Ulrich Rust, LL.M.

– General Counsel und Leiter Recht der RWE AG –

Ulrich Rust, Rechtsanwalt, leitet seit Oktober 2016 als General Counsel die Rechtsabteilung der RWE AG. Seit 2001 ist er für den RWE-Konzern in mehreren juristischen Führungspositionen tätig, zuletzt als Leiter Recht & Compliance der RWE Generation SE für das operative Kraftwerksgeschäft. Seine Tätigkeitsschwerpunkte liegen in den Bereichen Gesellschaftsrecht, Kapitalmarktrecht, Kartellrecht, Energierecht und Compliance. Seinen beruflichen Werdegang begann er in der Wirtschaftskanzlei Heuking Kühn Lüer Wojtek. Ulrich Rust veröffentlicht regelmäßig zu wirtschaftsrechtlichen Themen und hat Mitgliedschaften u.a. im Rechtsausschuss des BDI sowie im Lenkungskreis Recht des BDEW inne.

Dr. Ulrich Rust von Tax & Legal Excellence Corporate Legal Board

Dr. Dirk Christoph Schautes

– General Counsel der ERGO Group –

Dirk Christoph Schautes, Rechtsanwalt, leitet seit November 2014 als General Counsel den zentralen Rechtsbereich der ERGO Group und war zudem in 2017 ad interim als Chief Compliance Officer der ERGO tätig. Darüber hinaus nimmt er verschiedene Aufsichtsratsmandate in Gruppengesellschaften der ERGO Group im In- und Ausland wahr. Zuvor verantwortete er sechs Jahre als Director Group Compliance das konzernweite Compliance Management System der METRO Group, nachdem er dort zunächst zwei Jahre als Senior Legal Counsel u.a. für M&A-Aktivitäten und ein Auslandsportfolio verantwortlich war. Zuvor war er rund fünf Jahre für die internationale Anwaltskanzlei Clifford Chance im Bereich Corporate tätig. Dirk Christoph Schautes ist durch zahlreiche Vorträge bekannt. Er war Gründungsmitglied des Deutschen Instituts für Compliance e.V. (DICO), ist Mitglied des Ausschusses Recht & Compliance sowie Vorsitzender der Kommission Kartellrecht im Gesamtverband der deutschen Versicherungswirtschaft (GdV).



Jochen Scholten, MBA

– General Counsel der SAP SE –

Jochen Scholten, Rechtsanwalt, leitet seit Januar 2017 als General Counsel den Bereich Global Legal bei SAP. Seit 1998 ist er für die SAP in mehreren juristischen Rollen tätig. Begonnen hat Jochen Scholten seine Tätigkeit für SAP als Legal Counsel, vor seiner aktuellen Tätigkeit leitete er als Associate General Counsel den Bereich Commercial Legal bei SAP und war Interim General Counsel in 2015. Seine Tätigkeitsschwerpunkte liegen in den Bereichen Vertrags – und IP Recht, Wettbewerbsrecht, Kartellrecht sowie dem Prozessrecht . Jochen Scholten hält einen MBA der Mannheim Business School sowie der ESSEC (Frankreich). Er hält regelmäßig Seminare zum Thema Verhandlungsführung am IPR Institut der Universität Heidelberg.


Dr. Johannes Schulte, LL.M.

– General Counsel der Douglas GmbH –

Johannes Schulte, Syndikusrechtsanwalt, ist seit Dezember 2014 General Counsel der Douglas Gruppe und dort für die Bereiche Recht, Compliance, Versicherungen und Datenschutz zuständig. 2015 begleitete er den Dual Track Prozess im Rahmen des Verkaufs der Gruppe von Advent International an CVC. Zuvor war er General Counsel von Unify, vormals Siemens Enterprise Communications, einem Joint Venture der Siemens AG und The Gores Group. Vor seinem Wechsel auf die Unternehmensseite 2010 war er als Partner bei Hogan Lovells in Berlin und München vor allem in den Bereichen Corporate, M&A, Private Equity und Restrukturierungen tätig. Seine berufliche Karriere begann er als Associate bei Linklaters in Berlin.


Solms U. Wittig

– General Counsel der HENSOLDT Holding GmbH –

Solms U. Wittig, Rechtsanwalt und Attorney-at-Law (New York), leitet seit März 2017 die Rechts- und Compliance-Abteilung der Hensoldt-Gruppe, ein führender Anbieter von Premium-Sensoren für Schutz, Aufklärung und Überwachung, welche aus der Akquisition der Airbus DS Electronics and Border Security durch KKR hervorgegangen ist. Von 2012 bis 2016 verantwortete er bei der Linde AG ebenfalls die Bereiche Recht und Compliance. Davor sammelte er jahrelange Industrie- und Führungserfahrung bei der Siemens AG, zuletzt als Chefjurist des inzwischen  umstrukturierten Industrie-Sektors. Sein beruflicher Weg führte ihn dazu noch zur Deutschen Bank und zur internationalen Wirtschaftskanzlei Hogan Lovells. Solms U. Wittig war von 2014 bis Ende 2016 Präsident des Bundesverbandes der Unternehmensjuristen und ist Mitglied in der Deutschen Institution für Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit.

Solms U. Wittig von Tax & Legal Excellence Corporate Legal Board