Review Board

The Review Board monitors the admission process for private sector representatives and consultants to Tax & Legal Excellence. The Review Board examines whether the candidates’ admission criteria have been met and may, in individual cases, oppose admission to the membership of an applicant. The Review Board consists of four members. Its representatives are university professors with proven expertise in economics, law, taxation and finance.

Prof. Dr. Manuel Ammann

Manuel Ammann is Full Professor of Finance at the University of St. Gallen, Dean of the School of Finance and Director at the Swiss Institute of Banking and Finance. At the University of St. Gallen he is the academic director of the Master of Arts in Banking and Finance. His research areas are derivative instruments, asset management, financial markets and risk management.

Manuel Ammann also regularly works as a consultant for public institutions (e.g. the Swiss National Bank) and companies. His clients are mainly financial institutions, usually banks and insurance companies in Switzerland, Germany, France and England. He is Chairman of the Board of Directors of Algofin AG and a member of the Board of Directors of St. Galler Kantonalbank und Neue Bank AG.

Prof. Dr. Manuell Ammann von Tax & Legal Excellence Review Board

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Kessler

Wolfgang Kessler, tax consultant, holds the Chair for Business Taxation and is Chairman of the Board of the Center for Business and Law at the Albert-Ludwigs-University in Freiburg/i.Breisgau. The focus of his academic work lies in the areas of legal form design, corporate tax law and international tax law.

Wolfgang Kessler is a lecturer at the “Bundesfinanzakademie” and a member of the “Fachinstitut der Steuerberater”. In addition, he is the initiator and founding partner of the Tax Academy and from 2001 to 2011, as a partner of Ernst & Young, he led the area of internal tax education and training for Germany, Austria and Switzerland.

StB Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Kessler von Tax & Legal Excellence

Prof. Dr. Markus Rudolf

Markus Rudolf is rector of WHU and since 1998 full professor and holder of the Allianz Endowed Chair of Finance at WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management. He is also Head of the WHU Center of Asset and Wealth Management. His most recent publications deal with the euro crisis, banking, asset and risk management and the valuation of derivatives.

Markus Rudolf is a member of the editorial board of the journal “Financial Markets and Portfolio Management” and academic director of the Campus for Finance – WHU New Year’s Conference. He also holds a position as Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Böker & Paul AG and was a member of the Supervisory Board of BlackRock Asset Management Deutschland AG between June 2008 and March 2016.

Prof. Dr. Markus Rudolf von Tax & Legal Excellence Review Board

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Karsten Schmidt

Karsten Schmidt holds the Chair of Corporate Law at Bucerius Law School. From 2004 to 2012 he was President of the Bucerius Law School. He is publisher and editor of the “Zeitschrift für das gesamte Handels- und Wirtschaftsrecht (ZHR)”, co-editor of the “Zeitschrift für Wirtschaftsrecht (ZIP)” and member of the Editorial Board of the International and Comparative Corporation Law Journal.

Karsten Schmidt was a member of the board and the board of trustees of the “ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius” from 1987 to 2014. Since 2005 he has been a member of the Academy of Sciences in Hamburg and of the Academia Scientiarum et Artium Europaea, Salzburg. He is also Honorary Fellow of the Institute for Advanced Legal Studies, London, corresponding member of the Academia Nacional de Derecho y Ciencias Sociales, Cordoba/Argentina, and member of the scientific advisory board of the Institute for Economic Constitution and Competition (FIW). The Universities of Athens and Vienna awarded him the doctorate iur. h.c., the Leuphana University Lüneburg the doctorate rer. pol. h.c. In 2006 he was awarded the Federal Cross of Merit First Class.

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Karsten Schmidt von Tax & Legal Excellence Review Board

Review Board

Das Review Board kontrolliert bei Tax & Legal Excellence das Aufnahmeverfahren zur Mitgliedschaft der Vertreter aus der Privatwirtschaft und Beraterschaft. Dabei überprüft das Review Board, ob die Aufnahmekriterien der Kandidaten erfüllt sind und kann sich im Einzelfall gegen die Aufnahme zur Mitgliedschaft eines Antragsstellers aussprechen. Das Review Board besteht aus fünf Mitgliedern. Seine Vertreter sind Universitätsprofessoren mit ausgewiesener Fachexpertise im Bereich Wirtschaft, Recht, Steuern und Finanzen.

Prof. Dr. Manuel Ammann

Manuel Ammann ist ordentlicher Professor für Finanzen an der Universität St. Gallen, Dekan der School of Finance und Direktor am Schweizerischen Institut für Banken und Finanzen. An der Universität St. Gallen ist er u.a. akademischer Leiter des Masters of Arts in Banking and Finance. Seine Forschungsgebiete sind derivative Instrumente, Asset Management, Finanzmärkte und Risikomanagement.

Manuel Ammann ist zudem regelmäßig als Gutachter und Berater für öffentliche Institutionen (z.B. Schweizerische Nationalbank) und Unternehmen tätig. Seine Auftraggeber sind hauptsächlich Finanzinstitutionen, in der Regel Banken und Versicherungen in der Schweiz, Deutschland, Frankreich und England. Er ist Verwaltungsratspräsident der Algofin AG und Verwaltungsrat bei der St. Galler Kantonalbank und Neue Bank AG.

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Kessler

Wolfgang Kessler, Steuerberater, ist Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Betriebswirtschaftliche Steuerlehre und Vorstandsvorsitzender des Zentrums für Business and Law an der Albert-Ludwigs-Universität in Freiburg/i.Breisgau. Der Schwerpunkt seiner wissenschaftlichen Tätigkeit liegt in den Bereichen Rechtsformgestaltungen, Konzernsteuerrecht und Internationales Steuerrecht.

Wolfgang Kessler ist Dozent an der Bundesfinanzakademie sowie Mitglied des Fachinstituts der Steuerberater. Daneben ist er Initiator und Gründungsgesellschafter der Tax-Academy und leitete von 2001 bis 2011 als Partner von Ernst & Young u.a. den Bereich der internen steuerlichen Aus- und Fortbildung für Deutschland, Österreich und die Schweiz.

Prof. Dr. René Matteotti, M.A., LL.M. Tax

René Matteotti ist seit August 2012 Ordinarius für Schweizerisches, Europäisches und Internationales Steuerrecht an der Universität Zürich und als Rechtsanwalt bei Baker & McKenzie in Zürich tätig. Daneben ist er Präsident der Stiftung Archiv für Schweizerisches Abgaberecht und Chefredaktor der Zeitschrift Archiv für Schweizerisches Abgaberecht.

René Matteotti ist ständiges Mitglied des Mehrwertsteuerkonsultativgremiums (außerparlamentarische Kommission). Er ist Mitglied der Fachgruppe Steuern von EXPERTsuisse (ehemals Schweizerische Treuhandkammer) und wurde in den letzten Jahren in verschiedene steuerpolitische Gremien (z.B. strategisches Gremium Unternehmenssteuerreform III) berufen. Er verfasst regelmäßig für Bundes- und kantonale Verwaltungsstellen Rechtsgutachten zu Steuergesetzgebungsprojekten.

Prof. Dr. Markus Rudolf

Markus Rudolf ist Rektor der WHU und seit 1998 Ordinarius und Inhaber des Allianz Stiftungslehrstuhls für Finanzwirtschaft an der WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management. Außerdem ist er Leiter des WHU Centers of Asset and Wealth Management. Seine jüngsten Publikationen beschäftigen sich mit der Eurokrise, mit Banking, mit Asset und Risk Management sowie mit der Bewertung von Derivaten.

Markus Rudolf ist Mitglied des Redaktionsausschusses der Zeitschrift „Financial Markets and Portfolio Management“ und akademischer Direktor der Campus for Finance – WHU New Year’s Conference. Zudem hat er eine Position als Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrates bei der Böker & Paul AG inne und war Mitglied des Aufsichtsrates bei der BlackRock Asset Management Deutschland AG zwischen Juni 2008 und März 2016.

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Karsten Schmidt

Karsten Schmidt ist Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Unternehmensrecht an der Bucerius Law School. Von 2004 bis 2012 war er Präsident der Bucerius Law School. Er ist Herausgeber und Schriftleiter der Zeitschrift für das gesamte Handels- und Wirtschaftsrecht (ZHR), Mitherausgeber der Zeitschrift für Wirtschaftsrecht (ZIP) sowie Mitglied des Editorial Board des International and Comparative Corporation Law Journal.

Karsten Schmidt war von 1987 bis 2014 Mitglied des Vorstands und des Kuratoriums der ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius. Seit 2005 ist er Mitglied der Akademie der Wissenschaften in Hamburg und Mitglied der Academia Scientiarum et Artium Europaea, Salzburg. Außerdem Honorary Fellow des Institute for Advanced Legal Studies, London, korrespondierendes Mitglied der Academia Nacional de Derecho y Ciencias Sociales, Cordoba/Argentinien sowie Mitglied im wissenschaftlichen Beirat des Instituts für Wirtschaftsverfassung und Wettbewerb (FIW). Die Universitäten Athen und Wien zeichneten ihn mit dem Doktor iur. h.c. aus, die Leuphana-Universität Lüneburg mit einem Doktor rer. pol. h.c. 2006 wurde er mit dem Bundesverdienstkreuz Erster Klasse ausgezeichnet.